Building a New Home Music Studio!

After four long years of saving money, I finally got enough together to build me a new home studio. It is planned to be 200 square feet of custom music space! I’m about half way done at this point in time! So far, the flooring is done, two new walls, all new electrical for inside the walls, all heating and air conditioning duct work,  and all framing, with the exception of one 12 foot concrete wall that will be completed tomorrow, all of this is done now.

Over the next couple of weeks I should be able to get this project totally completed enabling me to get back to work writing more music in a new studio workspace specifically designed for music creation! I plan on making several posts about my adventure into construction complete with some photos of the different things needed to be done to make a home studio.

This is not a world class $1, 000,000 studio rather it is a studio on a budget, a small budget where I supply all of the labor and where most of the supplies are purchased through Home Depot. All computers, musical instruments, software, hardware and additional equipments is already purchased and not part of the budget for the room.

This post is more or less an introduction to the project with no photos at this time. I’ll post again real soon with some photos of  work in process and maybe if I can figure out how to post videos I will do that too. After it is done I will take more photos showing the completed room with any furniture and then with the furniture and all other decorations making it a working studio. I will post them here as well.

Stay Tuned:-)

~ by StringTunes on October 3, 2009.

Leave a comment